Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

What do you wish you'd known?

1sttime2011 is offline Registered User

What do you wish you'd known?

Hi everyone, I'm new to this thread and planning to start trying for a baby next month.

I was just wondering if there was anything you wish you'd known/done/not done *before* you got that little blue line?
    Posted via Mobile Device

erina320 is offline Registered User

Parenting is HARD!

I felt it was a dirty little secret no one had really clued me in on till I had my own, but parenting is A LOT harder than anyone ever tells you!

carang is offline Registered User

the thing is, people probably did say, it's the hardest thing in the world... but until you ARE a parent, you don't really understand.

Anne1212 is offline Registered User

Make sure u enjoy the most amazing journey ever!!

Be relax about getting pregnant. Easy for some but difficult for some. I remember for a while I was like 'oh no not pregnant again this month...' and got so disappointed every time period started. Pressure to yourself (and your partner) doesn't help~

Start taking folic acid and do consult a doctor. Pre-pregnancy check could be good. We did that and I started taking folic acid but at some point I stopped as thought 'going down the drain' and only restarted taking it after I found out I was pregnant...

Meet up with mums to be once u got pregnant. Great to have girlfriends to support each other along the way. Potentially after giving birth the babies could become baby buddies too! I was on the move while pregnant so was a bit on my own.

Would be good to start discussing with your partner the preferred parenting style, roughly where u're going to be in the next 3-5-10 years and lots of topics u might normally just leave it. 2 persons living together is an art already and to be able to bring up a baby together needs total honesty and open communications.