Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Short Parents= Short kids??

Nexo is offline Registered User

Short Parents= Short kids??

hello everyone
    i'm a newbie, i'm not a father yet, but me and my wife are trying to have one. But something is actually kinda worrying us, the fact that how tall they are going to be, or more precisely how short they can be, since we're both not the tallest of people. I'm only 5'6(1,67) and she is only 5'2(1,53), so we know our kids will never be as tall as a NBA player(even though, there is one with 5'5,lol). My question is can we do something to prevent our children to at least be taller than we are?
    I dont want my children to be neglected or be rejected by our society, just because they are small, and unfortunately we live in a materialistic world, where fashion and money dictate our trends.

DoraT is offline Registered User

No worry pal

Dear Nexo
    You really should rest your worry and just go ahead with you 'production'. Nowadays most kids are tallker than their parents. Old medical teachings have it that girls and boys are around 2.5 cm shorter and taller than their parent's average, respectively.
    But genetics only partly explains everything. There is always the nurture side of things, other than nature. So may be you should be 6' if your parents took care of your better (no offence).
    Or else who else of us can father Yao Min!
    Kind regards
    DT

sky123 is offline Registered User

I don't think you can do anything about genetics but nowadays many children are taller than their parents because of the better food and more balanced diet. I guess that is where you should try and help your children. As for genes, if any of the grandparents are relatively tall it maybe that your kids will be tall. Try not too worry too much over something that really you can't have control over - believe me you will have many other things to worry about.

tikkunolam is offline Registered User