Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Postpartum Menstruation??

miriam228 is offline Registered User

Postpartum Menstruation??

Hi,

I have been bf'ing full time for the first 2 months after delivery. Ever since I got back to work, I have been part-time bf'ing & feeding formula (bf once in the morning b4 work and bf twice when I get back home). On the 3rd month one day, I noticed small patches of pinkish discharge, and wondered if it may be my period. It lasted one day only.

Y'day, a month later, I noticed slightly more pinkish/red discharge, and this lasted for 2 days.

Are these called postpartum menstruation, or I need to go for a check-up? As I'm a first time mom, sorry, I have no experience of this!

Suv
    Suv is offline Registered User

Did you have your 6 week checkup? If not, you should go and get yourself cleared with your Ob/ Gp. If you did and everything is fine, perhaps you could just ask one of your nurses in your Ob's office. Sounds normal to me since you are b'feeding part time.

Yes, did my 6 wk check-up, Suv.

Asked a friend who is bf'ing part-time too, and she says it's normal.

Just wanted to ask around more, since the first time it came for 1 day only, then 2nd month for 2 days...unlike the "normal" periods we had b4....

nicolejoy is offline Registered User

When you're breastfeeding, I think that in a lot of cases, the post partum periods are quite light/irregular/strange. I would probably assume that it's your period - and I probably wouldn't expect things to be back to "normal" until you completely wean!!

I'm still bfing my 13 month old (3 times a day) and am still not regular or "normal" with my cycle!!

Understand a lot of mums are bf'ing full-time, and since I am just part-time bf'ing, thought it would be different. As long I know this is "normal" then it's ok.

My colleague, who gave birth end of Aug, who has been giving formula from day one, still has not has her period back yet! Strange!