Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Introducing Formula

Swoon is offline Banned

Introducing Formula

I've been breastfeeding baby for last 2 1/2 months but feel he's not getting enough milk and seems constantly hungry recently. He cries right after a feeding and is always sucking on his hands. I've been doing the every-3-hours-for-10 minutes-on- each-side routine. Although I wanted to solely breastfeed him, I need to top up with formula before he starves!

What is the best way to introduce formula to a solely breastfed baby? Replace one feed a day with formula for first week and then increase to 2 per day? How much should be given at first and then later on? Also, should I start increasing the time between feeds for longer than 3 hours and give a larger amount of formula during the feed? I yearn for this to happen for the nighttime feeds.

Any advice or input from your experiences would be appreciated as I have no idea what to do.

rani is offline Administrator

Bzee,

Sounds like you may be going through a growth spurt. Why don't you increase your feeding time to 15 mins per side. Or you can even nurse on demand. The increase in demand will signal your body to produce more milk to meet your baby's needs.

If you decide you'd rather introduce formula, then after breastfeeding you can try giving him an additional 3-4ozs of formula. If you want to continue breastfeeding, than don't replace feeds with formula, otherwise your supply will slowly diminish.

Here's a good article on Nursing and Growth Spurts

http://breastfeed.com/resources/arti...owthspurts.htm

Last edited by rani; 06-09-2003 at 08:36 PM.
    Founded GeoBaby in 2002

LLL_Sarah is offline Registered User

Dear Bzee,

You can be confident your baby is getting enough breast milk if: