Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

changing to married name

JennyB is offline Registered User

changing to married name

I got married 2 years ago but didn't change my surname. However recently I have been considering it due to the birth of our baby (now 5 months old); it just feels right for us all to have the same name, and I am sure it would avoid a lot of confusion for others.

I would be interested to hear from women with kids who either (1) kept their maiden name and are glad they did, or (2) changed their name in Hong Kong and have some advice about what order to go about doing things, e.g. passport before ID card before bank accounts, etc. I'm a permanent resident so would need to go to Immigration to get stamp put in new passport. I'm also concerned about whether the deeds to our flat would have to be altered and having to pay Stamp Duty again!

sharonwong is offline Registered User

good topic. you beat me to it! i am in the same situation. we were married 5 yrs ago in hk. i am assuming that my name was not changed during signing of the marriage certificate either because there was no automatic change of surnames in hk as many locals keep their maiden names as part of the culture or b/c the officier had failed to advise us of the choice. since then we've moved back to new york and changing name here is a hassel. the institutions in ny do not recognize any foreign marriage certificates. we would have to be remarried (hold a 2nd ceremony). at the time of signing the certificate you have a choice to do the change then. in hk i didn't notice anything like that (or i was just too nervous)!

you're right.... i don't feel like we're a complete family when my name is different than my husband or my children. especially when we go through customs at the airport and we go to the booth as a family but we have different names. anyway my husband had asked me several times if i was to do so.