Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Moving to HK - please tell me about Childcare!

Jen Spain is offline Registered User

Question Moving to HK - please tell me about Childcare!

Hi All,
    My husband and I are moving to HK in Jan as he will teaching at the Australian International School. I am an accountant and will be looking for work once are settled, however I am quite worried about getting the appropriate care for our 16month old daughter. She goes to a lovely creche / childcare centre here and loves it and we are very comfortable that it is run at very high standards. We would like to continue her in a creche in HK but only hear about nannying arrangements. Can anyone please provide us with some advice / information on whether childcare centres exist, and what kind of monitoring etc is done to ensure a high standard of care? If not, how on earth do you find a nanny with whom you are comfortable on leaving your precious babe with all day??
    Thanks in advance,
    Jen

aldougie is offline Registered User
    Jen

There are no creche/childcare facilities available in HK that you are looking for. Nannies are hugely expensive but you can contact Rent-A-Mum to get an idea of the costs involved in hiring a qualified nanny. The rest of use helpers to look after our children whilst we are at work. This is a time consuming process to get the right one and even then it can be a bit hit and miss but as you won't be going straight to work when you arrive you'll be able to give it the time needed to find the right one.

Good luck with your move.

loupou is offline Baby Guru
    It is not true that there are no creche or day care centres in Hong Kong. Here is a list of creches and day care centres provided by the Hong Kong Social Welfare Department:
    http://www.info.gov.hk/swd/download/FCW/occs.pdf