Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Dha, Epa, Omega 3

Jane Lee is offline Registered User

Smile Dha, Epa, Omega 3

HI,
    I learnt from some of the pregnancy web sites and doctors recommending mom-to-be to take DHA especially from the last 3 months of their prenancy. However, my own doctor says this is not proven and he will not recommend any particular brands to me. Does anybody try to take DHA pills during prenangcy and will this have any impact to the baby? Does DHA really works? Which particular brand and where to buy? Jane

rani is offline Administrator
    I'm no expert in this, but DHA is added to a lot of baby formulas and is known as the IQ booster. I haven't heard of women taking DHA pills during pregnancy or is it Cod Liver Oil?
    Last edited by rani; 11-14-2004 at 11:03 PM.
    Founder of GeoBaby.Com

barbwong_130 is offline Registered User
    Research has shown that DHA in breast milk has the effect of increasing the baby’s IQ. However, all the research to date has not shown the same effect when DHA is added to formula milk.

Understanding nutrition is more complicated that just the ingredients you also have to take into account how those ingredients are used by the body.

The reason that DHA is added to formula milk is because of ‘media hype’. For a long time Nestle didn’t add DHA to their formula with the reasoning that there was no research to show any advantage. They now add it – not because the research has changed – rather because their market share was dropping because mothers now believe that DHA will improve the IQ of their babies. But if they really want to improve the IQ of their babies the best way is to breastfeed them.

shalom is offline Registered User

Taking DHA and EPA during pregnancy

dear jane,