Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Homework

awonghk05 is offline Registered User

Homework

Hi

My son who will be 4 years next month refuses to sit in a place for atleast 5 minutes continously to do his homework. He sits for 2-3 minutes and walks aorund the place and very difficult to get him back.

Helpful if someone could let me know of some hints to improve his span to sit continuosly.

regards

carang is offline Registered User
    he's four!!!!!!!!!! they're supposed to be moving around! homework for a four year old is insane!!!(sorry, i used to be a private tutor and this kind of thing drove me crazy!)

that said, there's nothing wrong with getting him to sit down...try colouring, playing games, reading... if he can sit for these things it's because they're interesting and fun... homework is not....

awonghk05 is offline Registered User

Thank you Carang

Thank you so much carang, on your reply.

We have put him to kumon and this is the one that iam referring to that he just sits with for hours.

Cheers

carang is offline Registered User
    maybe he's too young for it...like i said, try reading to him, colouring, cooking, art and crafts, you can teach him while doing these things... children learn through doing best...

yaffle is offline Registered User
    Take him out of that school. No four yaer old should have homework. In fact there is a fair amount of research now saying that children of any age gain little or no benefit from homework, and it is in fact detrimental to their health.

jane01 is offline Registered User
    I agree with the above posters, 4 year olds are not built to sit still ! As for homework, I'm shocked ! My mum is a primary school teacher in Australia and she has always told me:

* young children learn through play - helping you with the washing, going for a walk in the park, baking cakes with you, generally just spending time with their parents, relatives and friends (and helpers I suppose in Hong Kong)