Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Overdue

usfret is offline Registered User

Overdue

My doctor has scheduled me to be induced a week after my due date if labour does not commence before then. They did send me for a fetal heartbeat monitoring where I was informed that everything was normal. However I am not a doctor and even though I am not at all keen on being induced, at the same time I dont want to take any unneccesary risks. I am doing my check-ups at the QE and I trust the hospital authorities but my question is this, can I request them to wait for a couple of days more since, as they say, everything is normal? Also, should I go in for a private consultation/ultrasound scan just to put my mind at ease? Can anyone recommend a reliable private ob-gyn for consultation. I have not had a very good experience with private doctors perhaps because I wish to deliver at the public hospital. Also, if anyone has had an induction could you please share your experiences as I am very apprehensive.

thanks.

Roshna is offline Registered User
    i was five days overdue and both our doctor and my hubby and i decided on labor induction. previously, doctors would wait till 2 weeks overdue before advising induction but that wait has now gone down to 10 days according to two ob-gyns we spoke to. Also, there's a chance that baby will inhale meconium once baby's been in thre too long. We also did the fetal heart tracing every other day or so starting the 38th - 39th week. we were also stold everything normal but we opted not to wait too long.

we had a normal delivery - i was on oxytocin and i had an epidural once the contractions got more intense.

if you want a second opinion - go to Dr. Doo at the Women's Clinic in Central - 2523-3007. He will explain things very well to you.

hope this helps.

Hi Roshna,