Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Water weight or what?

Bumblebzz is offline Registered User

Unhappy Water weight or what?

Lately i don't know whats going with my body...I have gained 4 lbs in 1 wk!! Is this possible at only 20wks?

I'm not eating more than usual, but my hands, feet, face (well everything) is soo swollen & puffy. It's uncomfortable & kinda painful (I have carpal tunnel syndrome in my hands as well)

I'll try cutting out salty foods and drink more water (key word is TRYING...I do love my salty foods) and I'm not very good at drinking much.
    Normally (pre-pregnancy) I would maybe have 3-4 drinks in a day. I just don't feel thirsty.

So anyway, between retaining alot of water and gaining a few unneccesary lbs when I went back home (shame on me!) I feel huge! (happy I'm preggers, but huge none the less.)
    I think I've already gained something like 20-25 lbs. that seems like ALOT this early on.

Should I start watching my caloric intake so i don't put on an excess amt?

I sure don't want to look like Orca the whale by the time this child is ready to arrive!

JennyB is offline Registered User
    I think you should ask a doctor about this kind of thing! But I know you should definitely drink more water than when non-pregnant, and that lack of water can make water retention worse.

Poppy is offline Registered User
    I am on week 10 on my second.

On my first, I experienced exactly what you have described - I was huge by 20 weeks and I didnt feel like I was eating that much more than usual. It was water retention! Like you I enjoyed salty foods (especially white bread with lots of buter) and I didnt ever feel the urge to drink! I felt happy to be pregnant but have no fond memories of the feeling of being pregnant - just fat and uncomfortable and lethargic!