Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Disney World of English

Isaac Mom is offline Registered User

Post Disney World of English

Hi there

I am new to Geobaby forum and would like to seek for comments.

My son is 22 months and both my hubby and I are Chinese and working. To be honest, we want our son to be bilingual, so we speak English whenever we talk to him. It appears that he totally understands us but he answers in Cantonese. It's pretty funny. It's because both of our parents and maid speak Cantonese to him.

In the recent Baby Expo I was introduced Disney World of English, which attracts us and we think it can provide a good English environment to my son to learn while playing, but the price is really out of my expectation. We are still struggling whether it is worth buying it.

Is anyone using this and any comment to it?

Thanks
    Isaac Mom

carang is offline Registered User

continue speaking to your son in english. when you rent a dvd, rent an english one. when you watch tv, watch the english channle. when you buy books, buy english books.

do NOT spend so much money on it. I have tutored English for 11+ years and can say, I'm not very impressed with the products you mentioned. it is normal for him to answer in what he feels comfortable with, he isn't even 2 years old yet!

my hubby is chinese, i'm canadian. i speak english, my hubby chinese to our 19 month old son. he answer some things in english, and other things in chinese. he shouldn't start to realise the difference until 2-2.5 years of age. even then, he will choose what he considers to be the "easiest" way to answer.

i have cousins in canada who are COMPLETELY bi-lingual in English and French. Even now that they are adults, they switch back and forth depending on what they are talking about and who the are talking to. This is part of being bi-lingual.

good luck!

carang is offline Registered User