Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

milk supplies

ninahudd is offline Registered User

milk supplies

I am starting back to work in a few weeks and want to express milk for as long as i can but i have a few questions:
    1) How much milk should i try to get in the freezer to give me a good start
    2) how much do i need to put in each bag. Books say that breast fed babies take about 3/4 oz. Is that the same even as they get older (she's 2 months now)
    3) I am a teacher so can only realistically pump or feed in the morning/lunch time/ after school and evening. Is that going to be enough to keep my milk going?
    Any other adviuce would be gratefully recieved, it all seems a bit daunting and I'm worried I'm going to fail at it.

Bear Lau is offline Registered User

:cheerlead :cheerlead Here are some of my experience:
    1) As much as possible.
    2) I put around 4 oz in each bag
    3) It depends how much milk you could pump. For me, I also pump four times per days since my LO turned 2.5 months. Morning, around 11 am, 4pm and before i went to sleep. I could have good 14 oz at the morning and 8 oz for others. So she had enough milk supply.
    Just keep a routine you will be able to do it. Don't worry !!!!

Bear Lau:

LLL_Sarah is offline Registered User

It is recommended that you offer expressed breast milk to babies in small quantities because it is easier to add more than to take some away. Once you have heated and given the milk to the baby any extra that the baby doesn’t drink will need to be thrown away.

Usually I suggest giving 2 oz and then an extra ounce and a second extra ounce and even a third extra ounce if needed. This way if your baby only wants 2.5 oz you don’t waste much.