Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

What baby carrier to buy?

beetoy is offline Registered User

What baby carrier to buy?

Hi all,

I am new to baby carriers and still deciding whether to buy one and if yes, which type/model/brand to buy. Here are my questions:

-if we already have a good stroller, why do we still need to invest on a baby carrier?
    -my baby is 2 months old, what would be a good carrier to use (for longer term) and until what age should a carrier be used? dont babies start enjoying running around at 1.5 years old and arent they becoming too heavy to be carried?
    -i came across a Combi carrier today for around HKD630. anyone has used it?
    -heard about Baby Bjorn. any user comments? and where to buy? at what price?

Thanks a lot!

ELT
    ELT is offline Registered User

Hi

I had a combi carrier (think the model is nanni ninna), very light, and comfy for my little boy until he's 3 months when he started to refuse being carried facing me (my combi can only carry the baby lying down or facing the parent). Another problem with the combi was I could not handle it alone. The one I had needed more than 2 hands to handle.

I recently bought a babybjorn which allows me to carry my baby facing forward. The material is quite durable, yet soft and has cushioning. I can use it without help too. Most importantly my boy loves it.

I also have a stroller. When I go out with the baby by myself, I would bring the carrier too. There would be situations where I need to fold the stroller (say on buses / taxis), and that's when the carrier comes in handy. I would use the carrier and still have both hands available to fold/unfold the stroller. If I bought something, I would use the stroller to carry the merchandise. With a stroller I really don't use the carrier that often but I do see great value having one standing by.

spockey is offline Registered User