Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Sleep problems in the new home

mintycat is offline Registered User

Sleep problems in the new home

Hi everyone, it's my first time posting here.

My daugther is 23 months now. Ever since she was 5 months old, she slept through the night. I know how lucky we are with her sleeping. We had a month of night waking when she was teething around 8-9 months but we used the controlled crying method and she learned to fall asleep on her own. Every now and then she will wake up in the middle of the night, most of the time, she will go back to sleep on her own. If her crying becomes intense, we will go in and soothe her and at most, it will take about 30 mins and she will go back to sleep.

The problems started last month when we moved to a new place. She'd suddenly start screaming (piercing and loud) in the middle of the night. At first we thought she was scared of the dark because her new room has darker curtains than the old room, so we added a little night light. She is still waking up in the middle of the night at least 4-5 times a night. Then we thought she needed time to adjust to the new place but it's been a month already. Then we thought maybe she has nightmares so we always go in to soothe her. But now it seems like she is testing us and just want us to go in and hold her to sleep. Hubby and I have no sleep as a result. I am 27 weeks pregnant so I really need the sleep and I am afraid if we don't resolve this before the new baby comes, everyone will not sleep well.