Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Helper's salary - same as previous contract?

stilli is offline Registered User

Helper's salary - same as previous contract?

Hi all
    Question regarding salary negotiations for helper. I am totally new at this and new to HK so pardon my ignorance :)

Our potential helper is currently making 4300HK a month (she has 17 years of exp with excellent references who we have followed up with). Is it the norm to pay the same as the previous employer? We asked what her expectations are and she told us it was up to us. We want to do the right thing but actually feel that 4300 is a bit high for us but dont want to loose her nor do we want to be disrespectful.

Any insights from your experiences would be most appreciated.

AndreaY is offline Registered User
    Since the legal requirement is $3400 and most people pay that, $4300 does seem like a lot. Also, having a good reference and a previous employer liking her is not a guarantee that you will. If she really is worth the $4300, you can always start on basic salary and have salary review after 3 months and increase it if you think right. But if it's stated to be $4300 a month on the contract, that's what you would have to pay her regardless whether she deserves it. On the note of whether you have to pay her the same as previous employer, the answer is no and to tell you the truth, I do not think she can get that amount with a new employer, which is probably the reason why she tells you that you pay her what you want.

KatBoo is offline Registered User
    why don't you suggest paying her less...what you feel comfortable with and then suggest a review at some point down the line.