Register / Login

User Name
Password
Forgot Password?
Register to:
  • Get our bi-weekly parenting newsletter
  • Form Playgroups
  • Meet other expecting parents
Register For Free

Search GeoBaby



Specific Searches:
Forum, Resources
Shop Online for: Stuff for Babies, Books, Toys and more...
GeoBaby.Com arrow GeoBaby Forum arrow Site Related arrow Support

Scam artist in Australia using this site!!!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-21-2007, 09:04 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 56
Scam artist in Australia using this site!!!

Just wanted to let everyone know that a certain annesmith07@hotmail.com tried to sell me a ergo baby carrier on this site.
Needless to say I have been had.Just wanted to warn others.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-21-2007, 10:03 PM
somebodyfamous's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 343
I wonder why her posts kept getting deleted. Would have been more prudent of the moderators here to explain that to me.

Thanks momofthree!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-21-2007, 10:51 PM
shri's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 270
sbf : We generally delete posts when we see areas of abuse and our users alert us of spam or scam suspects -- we have deleted several posts by this user who has sneaked in under a couple of different nicknames.

The fact that this person was not in Hong Kong is a serious red-flag. Any australian would sell it through the local classifieds / ebay and not to users in Hong Kong.

Mum of Three - best to contact paypal and alert them, if you've used them and also contact your credit card company to issue a charge back.

As always, buyer beware. We cannot monitor and respond to every single post on here.

Finally, if you do see something fishy, please use the "Report Abuse" link that is on every post.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-21-2007, 10:54 PM
somebodyfamous's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 343
thanks so much for doing all your hard work! I thought it was strange that she wanted to sell an ergo for HK$40 from Australia so I ignored her in the end.

Thanks for your helpful advice!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-28-2007, 09:07 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: hong kong
Posts: 78
oh, someone tried to sell me one too, user name melrose - they said $60 aus including postage - but i wasn't interested. plus i thought it was strange that 60 aus included postage when i know how much it costs to send things from aus.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-30-2007, 01:28 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 56
Thanks for all the input.I have opened a dispute file wih Paypal,not holding my breath though!Interesting about the "melrose" user as that was the second Paypal account she asked me to transfer money too.

On another note,I finally ordered the Ergo through Doubibou in Macau.Outstanding service from them and love,love the carrier.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-30-2007, 10:07 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: hong kong
Posts: 78
so sad how people do this. my brother got ripped off majorly through ebay a few thousand aus!
good to warn everyone to be careful. Hope you get your $ back.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Site Upgrade - Please Report Problems Here shri Support 2 04-04-2006 12:28 AM


All times are GMT +9. The time now is 09:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Welcome to GeoExpat.Com. Click on one of the above tabs to view the latest content.

Small Business Ads