Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

sky-rocketing maternity costs

mushi is offline Registered User

Cool sky-rocketing maternity costs

i am new to HK and just completed my first pre-natal visit with an Obs. the resulting fees made me jump out of my maternity bliss. is there any way of controlling maternity costs in HK....as in avoiding some unnecessary tests or sonography done at 5 weeks...like mine! my obstetrician wants to me to meet up every 2 weeks.....is that really necessary?? ia m paying thru my nose...someone pls. help!

also recommedations on good gynacs and obs would really help.

joyofliving is offline Registered User

Hi Mushi,
    In Hong Kong either one should have lots of money or lots of time or maternity insurance.
    Private Doctors are expensive here. But as far as I know doctors in Central are more expensive than else where. I have called up many of them all over HK island, Kowloon and NT and it seemed the difference in fee + ultrasound can be staggering. As you go farther from Central costs start dropping.
    Public system is for those with plenty of time and of course patience, coz the waiting time for appointments is a lot. If you have a HKID antenatal checks are free. And unless you have any risk factors they will not call you every now and then.
    Private Doctors do call for ultrasound every two weeks which I think is not required, in my opinion once a month or once in 2 months is ok.
    Public system will use maximum 2- 4 ultrasounds in normal cases. And the first one will be around 20- 22 weeks. So again one has to wait to see the baby for a long time.
    I suggest register with a public hospital and go for antenatal visits there and also find a private doctor for once a month visits, tell her/ him your preferences for frequency of ultrasounds. And buy your own medicine from pharmacy.
    Hope this helps

BLC
    BLC is offline Registered User