Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Carfree DB??

minainrouge is offline Registered User

Wink Carfree DB??

Hi, i am a town planning student studying in the UK and i m currently working on a paper about carfree housing development.

I've got some questions here. I'd like to find out how's DB's carfree character actually being enforced.

1) Are there any clause included in the tenancy agreement specifying that residents at DB are not allowed to own a car?
    2) Or is this done purely through some sort of control at the DB tunnel entrance? If so, how does that work? Bollard? Manned checkpoint? Or special access cards for permitted vehicles?
    3) Someone mentioned parking cost at DB. Is that for the golf cart or under special circumstances people are allowed to own a car?
    4) As a DB resident, how do you find it living in a carfree community as such?

It would be much apprepriated if you could kindly offer your thoughts on the above. Thanks in advance,

Best regards,
    Mina

carang is offline Registered User
    1) can't remember any clause...had 4 leases while i lived there
    2) controlled by the tunnel. as it is located on the island the only entrance for a private car would be the tunnel...
    3) parking golf carts is what they are talking about. although when i borrowed one a few times, i found the parking cost negligible. ONLY cars/vans owned by businesses are allowed. they pay an extra licencing fee to the management company for the opportuntity.
    4)it was FANTASTIC! moving objects from one location to another could be a pain in the butt. MUST have VERY good public transport options though, otherwise it wouldn't work.

bekyboo44 is offline Registered User