Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Discovery Bay info

mommyof3 is offline Registered User

Discovery Bay info

I am hoping to find more information about delivering babies in the area as we are new to Discovery Bay, but I am already 7 months pregnant. I was hoping to deliver at a public hospital to save $$, but am open to opinions and comments from anyone. I have heard mention of QMH, but don't have any idea if this is the closest/best hospital for DB residents... Any info you might throw my way would be much appreciated!

rach is offline Registered User

Hi Mommyof3

Congrats - i am fairly new to DB as well so yet to experience trying to get to the hospital when I go into labour (next few weeks) but I have heard a range of stories. My doc advised either ambulance or ferry if there is one in the next 10mins or so but I imagine being your 3rd you might be quick so call the ambulance. However my doc warned that you need to be veryspecific about which hospital you want to go to or they will take you to the nearest one. I am delivering at matilda but I have met loads of mums out here who deliver at qmh so i'm sure they will be able to help - I think that would be the pick of public hospitals as is the biggest I think and they have all the facilities for emergencies might not be fancy but you are in the safest of hands so I would have no qualms about delivering there - just do your homework about what to expect. Not sure how to register but if you do a search on queen mary on this forum i'm sure you will find out.

I'm a bit nervous about going into labour here - who knows how quickly it goes but I guess you don't hear that many people having babies on the way to the hospital.

bekyboo44 is offline Registered User

Hi- I live in DB, and was in DB when went into labour with my first child...I had plenty of time to get ferry to central and then taxi to Matilda.