Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Any comment for Hooked on Phonics?

BonnieChan is offline Registered User

Just let my little girl to join a course in Parsons Musical Center.

nicolejoy is offline Registered User
    I'm a teacher for Parsons Hooked on Phonics. Which centre is your daughter at?

Oh - and obviously, since I'm a teacher for it, I do believe in the course. However I think it can be extremely good for some children and not AS good for others.

a) I think THIS course is better when the child can already speak at least basic English. The course is very reading focused - and so if the child has NOOOO English base, it can be much harder for them. I have taught children like this - some of them can work through it and do pretty well, others of them struggle and then are pretty naughty because they don't even understand what's going on.
    b) I think this course isn't the BEST for REALLY young kids. Some parents enroll their kids when they are only a year old. It's really hard to teach then because the kids aren't really "mature enough" for it.

Probably with those two things considered, I think this course is GREAT for kids - both Chinese kids and native speakers. It primarily is developed to help to learn them read/write/spell - but it also helps with spoken English, grammar (depending on the way the teacher teaches and the level of the class) and it is a FUN course too!

Any course has it's weaknesses and strengths - and if you have ANY questions, feel free to ask! I've been teaching the Hooked on Phonics course in Hong Kong for a year and a half, and I've been teaching at Parsons since they recently opened classes!!

AforApple is offline Banned