Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Recommended Formula With / After Breastfeeding

noc
    noc is offline Registered User

Recommended Formula With / After Breastfeeding

I've been breastfeeding for a little over 7 months now, but it's getting harder to pump the required amount for her daily feeds. We've been going into my freezer stock occasionally, but I think that will run out soon.

I could increase milk supply, but not sure I want to and may want to start weaning her, slowly.... I am also worried that she is not getting enough nutrition, since I read that breastfed babies need more iron and vitamin D after 6 months ? I am now only giving her one meal of solids of rice cereal mixed with breast milk.

My question is, which brands of formulas are good to supplement with? I heard that US & UK brands (Promil, Cow & Gate, etc.) are very sweet, and Japanese brands are better? Any recommendations?

tstmum is offline Registered User

I used NAN HA2 (suitable from 6 months) as a supplement to breastfeeding and switched to cows milk at 12 months (baby was completely weaned from breast milk by 12 months). Didn't try any of the other brands of formula, as baby seemed to tolerate it well but you might need to try other brands if your baby doesn't like the first one you give.

Btw, if you've ever tried breast milk it too is very sweet

Buckeroo is offline Registered User

Different babies take to different formula brands and if you ask most doctors, they'll tell you that they're all the same. I'm still b'feeding my 13mo, but for times when I'm out, she takes formula (Enfamil). Please note that with some b'fed babies, it might take a bit of experimenting and patience before they will take to formula.