Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

What do you look for in a helper?

kiwiinoz is offline Registered User

What do you look for in a helper?

Hi all

I am new to living in HK, and contemplating the idea of a full-time helper. The apartment we will be living in has a maids room... so my husband has given me the option.

I guess I have a few questions...
    What do you look for when you interview a maid? Are there characteristics to look out for that are good/bad?

How do you decide if you can trust a maid?

Can you get maids with first aid certificates/medical training? My son febrile convulses when he is ill, and while I would make every effort to be around when he is ill.. I would just feel a little more comfortable knowing I had someone who knows how to put him in a recovery position, not freak out and do nothing, and administer CPR if needed... is it unrealistic to find someone with those skills?

I would also want someone to be a friend to my kids, that they can have fun together, and learn to trust someone other than myself or my husband.. is this the wrong attitude?

If I have a maid, can I still do the cooking.. or share the cooking duties?

Can you reward your maid for her honesty and hard work? Is there a set protocol? Or can we just do what we want in terms of rewarding?

I know... lots of questions... sorry...
    Please feel free to share any and all advice you have on what you think works. These boards are so helpful, and I appreciate anything you can share.

Thanks,

Lisamaree

fhurley is offline Registered User

Hi Lisamaree,