Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Baby not interested in solids

geomum is offline Registered User

Baby not interested in solids

Hi,
    Any ideas on how to generate baby's interest in solids. My 6 month old eats a spoon or two of cereal/ fruit and then starts to fuss. She is quite active so making her sit still and getting her to open her mouth is so difficult/ many times impossible. I have tried turning the TV on while feeding her but that too seems to work for a few minutes only. I have been feeding her solids since she was 4 1/2 months, so I think by now she should take more than 1- 2 spoons. Any innovative ideas would be highly appreciated :)
    Thanks.

Neha is offline Banned
    Sounds like my son. He is 21 months and still a poor eater. When he was your baby's age we could still trick him in eating like one for mama, one for dada, look outside find me a car etc, but it is very difficult especially when they get older as they get stronger.
    I would suggest u not to force your kid to eat, let her eat whatever she wants and dont use TV as a distraction. She should know that its eating time and not tv time. Eating is per priority at that time.

Best of luck

tstmum is offline Registered User
    At 6 months, milk should still be the main source of nutrition. The recommendation is to start solids at 6 months, so I wouldn't be too worried at this stage and wouldn't push it if baby's really not interested. Talk with your paediatrician or go to a well baby clinic if you really are concerned. I agree with Neha - I would caution against getting baby used to watching TV while eating as this could be a very hard habit to break in future.

Yes I agree that milk is the most important source of nutrition for my baby right now, but I have heard from many mums that their baby are happily eating cereal and fruits starting 5- 6 months. I have seen other babies takign great interest in what their parents are eating.