Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Info needed- pregnant and new in HK

DB_mum is offline Registered User

Info needed- pregnant and new in HK

Hi, I'm new in HK and just found out that I am pregnant.

I have no OBGYN yet. I do not know how to proceed with maternity choice and registration. Does it depend on the OBGYN I choose? Should I go to a public or private hospital? How early should I register?

Information and advices highly welcome!

Dink is offline Registered User
    Hi there - congratulations and welcome to Hong Kong! I was in a very similar situation 4 months ago, I got a positive pregnancy test 5 days after I arrived. Because I had some bleeding and needed to see someone urgently, I just phoned the Matilda hospital and saw the first doctor available. This happened to be Dr Patrick Chan who I was very happy with. If you search this website you will find recommendations of other doctors too. The doctor you choose will only be able to deliver at certain private hospitals and he or she can tell you what these are. The next step for me was to call the hospitals and arrange to take a look around to see what suits your needs. My favourite of the private hospitals was the Matilda, purely because the baby can stay with you the whole time you stay there. A lot of the other private hospitals keep the baby in a nursery apart from feeding times, this didn't suit me - but everyone's different.