Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Would you hire this helper if you were me...

HK2008 is offline Registered User

Red face Would you hire this helper if you were me...

Dear all,
    I'm new to HK with two kids. The other day I took the kids to a playground and met a philipina maid. She is great with kids(from my own observation), and from what she said I can tell she's also pretty hardworking. She didn't complain much about her employer but seeing me as a pretty nice person and my two kids being much easier to look after, she asked me whether I could hire her. She would love to work for me. I also like her a lot. Do you think it's ethical to do so? She'd have to break her current contract, of course. If I do hire her, what is the procedure to get her to work for me? Does she need to go back to her country first? Do I need to go through an agency?
    Your thoughts and advice are very much appreciated.

zoey is offline Registered User

Just in my opinion, I wouldn't hire her, as I feel sorry for her current employer.

However, if you decide to hire her, the procedure is not too complicated, you don't need to go through an agency. Since that helper is so smart, she must know all the procedure, just ask her to go and collect all the documents and let you sign. But she must go back to Philippines first before beginning to work for you.

dimsum mum is offline Registered User

hi hk2008
    i think zoey has a good point, but then again, in the workforce, people leave their jobs all the time if they are offered a better one. i would however, ask to see this lady's former references, and call them, as any potential employer would.
    good luck, let us know how it turns out.

Dear Zoey and dimsum mum,