Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Advice pls!

cupcake is offline Registered User
    Kowloon, HK

Advice pls!

Hi everybody,

Sorry in adv that this is a long post!

Im currently working as a Teacher's Assistant for a kindergarten class in a tuition center. Most students do not understand English, and are unable to write, read etc.

The director of the center told me that despite I was a good teacher, they only hire Westerners as teachers as this was the parents' preference. Additionally, I am also not to speak any Cantonese in class.

The problem is:

The kids dont understand the teacher at all! They repeat after her, but mostly have NO idea what she's saying. Likewise, the teacher also has no idea what the students are saying. In short, class is difficult- especially worksheet time.

Teachers for my kindy class also happen to leave every few months. The current teacher Im working with has no idea what to do. She asks me in class what she should be teaching!

In class, I call attendance, prepare the materials, try to explain to the children what theyre learning/doing, assist them in their worksheets, collect their work, grade their work and tests, do crafts with them, clean up after them, and lead them out to their parents.In this ONE hour, Im practically doing the teacher's job, and get 1/4th the pay!!

After class, parents sometimes stop me to ask about their kid's progress. I told one mother that her son told me specifically that he did not understand a word the teacher was saying.. and that he ONLY understands Cantonese and Mandarin. I also told her that he was very quiet but I tried and will continue to try to help him by explaining the lesson to him in the simplest English possible and then Cantonese if needed.