Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

how do you know if your child is "gifted"?

carang is offline Registered User

how do you know if your child is "gifted"?

first off, i HATE the term "gifted", but as a teacher i see MANY, MANY children. i realise that all kids develop at a different pace.

i have wondered about my daughter though.

she's 2yrs4m. i've done some reading regarding developmental milestones. i have realised that by 2 years she had mastered 95% of the milestones set out for 3 year olds. the exception being toilet training.

she's spoken full sentences since she was 20 months. has a vocabulary of mimum 300-400 words in english, it could even be more... i haven't bothered counting. she understands cantonese, but prefers to speak english. she even makes up her own jokes sometimes. when i give her a book of "first words" she can name about 95% of them. the ones she can't name are usually ones we don't use very often.

physically, she's ahead as well. she was climbing steps on her own at 13 months. she's been climbing steps, alternating feet, since about 20 months. she walks on tip toes, can kick a ball in the correct direction, can throw in the right direction and can sometimes even catch. she's been eating with a fork since 22 months (or so) and can drink from a bottle or a cup fairly well.

she's been able to share toys and treats with friends since she was about 20 months and can take turns if told to. (she counts to ten, then asks for her turn... on her own!)

i guess what i'm asking is... is there anything i can to to help her even more? i do NOT want to push her, i just want to make sure she is stimulated enough. she already comes to my playgroup with me once or twice per week and she can hold her own in a class of 3-4 year olds (and has done since she was 2).