Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

First time hiring helper - Help!

mum32 is offline Registered User

First time hiring helper - Help!

Hello. It's my first time to hire a helper and I have hired one from the Philippines. She has never been to HK before and she is in her mid twenties.

Her major role is to look after my newborn baby. So far she is doing fine. I always ask her if she is OK, any homesick etc but everytime I have the same answer which is 'Yes mum'.

How do I know if she is really fine? I really care about her feelings and I want to make sure she is happy so she can do her job well.

Also I have talked to a lot of local mums here about dealing with helpers and here is what I hear from them:
    1. Don't be too nice to the helpers. They will be very relaxed with you and take things for granted. On the other hand, don't be too nasty or they will take revenge (hmmmm the killing employer and the bleach in milk cases)?!
    2. Do not let the helpers to hang around with those who have been in HK for a long time. Although they may be experienced and know Hk quite well, they are smart and know all the tricks to the employers, they are lazy...?!
    3. If we want to tell the helpers to do something, just tell them straight, no need to explain why, talk less as they do not have the EQ to understand us. Forget about meetings with them, it's for the office, not for them, this is too civilized?!
    4. Keep an eye on them all the time by installing cameras or ask a close relative to come. We never know what they do while we employers are not at home.

There are a few more of these comments but I have heard enough. They are so negative and make me paranoid. I am dying to hear the truth! I have also been reading some other threads and it seems that foreign employers do not have much problems with their helpers unlike the local ones.

rani is offline Administrator