Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Anyone can help? Baby Heartbeat at 6 weeks

bb_yeung is offline Registered User

Anyone can help? Baby Heartbeat at 6 weeks

I am 6 weeks pregnant & just went for the 1st doctor visit. No heartbeat detected. Am so worried....... Could you please share your experiences?

aussie mum is offline Registered User

Hi. I have no experience of this but if you google it you will find a lot of stories where people have been in the same situation and later found a heartbeat.
    All the best. It must be very worrying for you

carang is offline Registered User

how did they try to find a heartbeat at only 6 weeks?

you cannot hear the heartbeat using doppler until around 11-12 weeks.

an abdominal ultrasound may possibly pick up the amniotic sac, highly unlikely to see a heartbeat.

a vaginal ultrasound would be the best bet for seeing a heartbeat. if you didn't have one of these, i wouldn't worry yet.

Shenzhennifer is offline Registered User

I know how you must feel, but try not to worry yet, as it may be weeks before you hear the heartbeat yet. It doesn`t mean that there isn`t one though.
    For sure a vaginal u/s is best for this early on. How does the sac look? is it measuring at 6 weeks? Could the doctor give you any more information about it?

dimsum mum is offline Registered User

hi
    what a stressful experience for you. no wonder you are worried.
    there is a very good reason that doctors don't look for heartbeats during ultrasounds until eight weeks or so...and that's why. HB is very difficult to determine at such a young stage.
    have you had a beta blood test? are your levels rising?
    if you are really really anxious, ask for a beta blood test. you get your blood drawn, and the hcg level is recorded. two days later, you go again. you want your beta level to have roughly doubled.
    how were the sac measurements?