Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

C-Section and the Union Hospital

Tini is offline Registered User

C-Section and the Union Hospital

Hi there,
    I am new to HK, just moved here October last year. I am 28weeks pregnant now and it's my 3rd pregancy. With the two former births I had both times an emergency c-section in UK. I tried for a VBAC 2nd time but due to slow labour and distressed baby it was decided apon a repeat c-section. Now this time I will probs not come around a 3rd c-section.

I am currently at the Union Hospital in the NT. I am in Dr. Lo's obstetric care. Does anybody know him and/ or the Union Hospital? Even though I have had 2 sections so far and although both times were a very good experience I am very nervous about getting cut open, in a different country with a different system. How was your experience of a c-section in HK? Is it a common procedure here?

Dr. Lo adviced me immediately to do another c-section, a planned c-section. Yet I don't want to decide on a date, I want to wait till the baby is ready by itself to come. I know that there is a possiblity of uterine rupture but the percentage is still pretty low, around 2-3%. And I believe that if I was in the proper care then a VBAC shouldn't be a problem but costs would go up for this birth I suppose.

I just don't know what to do. Any advice is most welcome :)

Gataloca is offline Registered User
    Hi. I don't really know, as this is my first one (or the first one that have made it this far), but just wanted to say "Welcome to Hong Kong"!.

By the way, I am on week 16, and also planning to deliver in Union Hospital. I would like to have a normal delivery instead of c-section if I can.... Is there any reason why your doctor advised you to go to a c-section directly?

Shatinbaby is offline Registered User
    Just wondered if you wanted to meet up at some point? I live in Shatin am due in October with my first and am yet to meet anyone this side who is having baby this year.