Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Flat contract from Lawyer NOT estate agency?

Shenzhennifer is offline Registered User

Flat contract from Lawyer NOT estate agency?

(sorry to cross post this from geoexpat but am getting desperate and need to move out of my flat soon.)

Is this common in HK?
    We`re supposed to be moving to a new flat in a week and just received the final contract (to be signed by hubbie`s company) and I am shocked: it`s a 16 page English language (hubbie`s employers are HK and Japanese) document that I can barely understand only because I studied a bit of law before and my father was a lawyer). All parts basically leave the owner out of ANY RESPONSIBILITY to do with the place, whether or not damages were caused by us or by natural causes. In fact the place is 12 years old and has not been upgraded or renovated - only maintained. So if a window falls off and down 45 floors into the swimming pool and kills 3 people, it`s our fault. If the drains get clogged because of 12 year old plumbing, our responsibilty. We have to ensure maintenance of the rooftop(we are the top floor) through the management company. Basically we are the superintendents of the place and are financially responsible for everything even though we are just renters and just want to stay there quietly for a year or 2.
    Then it says that we have to `pay and discharge all taxes, assessment duties, charges impostions and outgoing of and annual or recurring nature now and hereafter to be assessed, imposed or charged by the gov`t or other lawful authority upon the said premises or upon the owner or occupier (except property taxes).`
    What is it talking about here????? What kind of taxes?
    I seriously want to go off on these people and punch the owner in the face. Notwithstanding, we pretty much need to vacate in a week and I have furniture coming this week, haha.