Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Flight advice: what would you do?

plumtree is offline Registered User

Red face Flight advice: what would you do?

Hi!

Looking for some advice from all those experienced mummies out there. It's my first time with two kids on a 13 hour flight (to France), and would appreciate some advice. The flight leaves at around 11pm next week and we have 4 seats in a row. I have two little ones, one a very active 2.5 yo boy and the other a baby of 9 months. I have a Sit N Stroll which I've used on short haul flights (and which is great!). I've checked and the airline does allow this to be used.

I'll need to bring it as I'll need it as a car seat where I'm going (while I remember, I must check that I can use it in France).
    Question: should I bring it for baby, but that means that baby will have to sleep sitting up? Or should I check it in and baby can then lie across the seats. But that way, he'll be disturbed whenever they put on the seatbelt signs etc..

What would you guys do in this situation? I'm not really looking forward to the flight, but needs must!
    Thanks in advance!

carang is offline Registered User
    i would take it for the baby... otherwise, someone is carrying the baby ALL THE TIME! that is not fun! i did it when my daughter was 18 months and it was a nightmare.

Good point, thanks! I am just so hoping baby will be able to fall asleep for at least a few hours while seated. Of course, how we deal with toddler is another matter! Both are very active boys...sigh.

ssheng is offline Registered User
    I believe you can reserve a bassinet on most of these long-haul flights. If you have the 4-person row, they would put you in the first row so you are facing the wall. The wall has a drop-down shelf and the bassinet (belonging to the airline) is secured to the shelf. But I think you need to call ahead to make sure you reserve it for yourself.