Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast

Uneducated teachers

geocup Guest

Uneducated teachers

I am really baffled at the number of uneducated teachers in HK. I know, that where I am from, to teach kindergarten, you must at least have a degree in Early Childhood. Here it seems, to me, that anyone who speaks English can teach. I have been a teacher for over 15 years and it always surprises me that here, schools and parents allow un-educated teachers teach their little ones.

I'm just curious, really. Do schools just care about what looks good? Do parents care about what just looks good. At the moment I am teaching at a school with someone from my home country and she only finished high school (which is great). However, I am so embarrassed by her grammar and vocabulary. She always says the wrong past tense and it is really awkward because I HAVE to correct her. I am an English teacher and it is my job to ensure that children learn the language correctly.

How can I let the principal know that this teacher is teaching the wrong things to students? This may not come across to you as bad, but, believe me it really is! She even talks in broken sentences. It makes me cringe.

I spent 8 years completing post high school education (Master in Special Ed.). Don't get me wrong, I am not jealous of this person or her position. ... I have rightly earned my registration, place in the school and salary. As I said, I am just baffled that parents and principals don't check into these things before they enrol them at schools.

Do you check if your child's teacher is well educated?

AmyH is offline Registered User
    I am quite shocked to learn that anybody who speaks English can teach. I would never ever apply for a position I was not qualified for so just assumed that everybody was the same.