Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Getting in to the Public System

sandymama is offline Registered User
    Hong Kong

Getting in to the Public System

Having my first baby and of course, in my ideal world, I would love to go through private care from beginning to end. However, after my first visit with a private OB/GYN, just to confirm my pregnancy and first scan, it's cost me an arm and leg. Now thinking ahead to all the different appointments, tests, scans, etc. my ideal world is quickly fading away since we won't be able to afford it all. My insurance doesn't cover any of this so we're pretty much heading towards the public route to the Queen Mary for everything. I'm a bit split on this because I would like to see the same doctor at every visit would know me and my baby when he/she is ready to come out. However, that's probably too much to ask. I've never done this before, so if anyone can share their experience with me on their appointments at the Queen Mary that would be great. Also, what do I do to start getting myself seen at the QMH?
    Thanks to all for your help :0)

carang is offline Registered User
    Sai Kung
    in the public system, there are catchment areas, so depending on where you live, you may go to a hospital other than QMH.

to get into the system, you need a letter confirming pregnancy from the doctor you already saw. once you have that in hand, you call the hospital you would deliver at so, if you are on HK island, it would either be QMH or Pamela Youde Nethersole. If you are in the QMH catchment area, you need to know that the pre-natal visits (unless you are assessed as high risk) will be at Tsan Yuk Hospital (it used to be a maternity hospital that has been redesignated for pre-natal care).

for the numbers, you can just call 1081 and ask the directory assistance.

good luck and congratulations!

canadianinhk is offline Registered User
    Sheung Wan