Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Is placenta delivery with Syntometrine/Syntocinon a common practice in HK?

mariac is offline Registered User

Is placenta delivery with Syntometrine/Syntocinon a common practice in HK?

Hello,

I am due to give birth in about 6 weeks at the Union Hospital in Shatin. My doctor is a resident doctor there. I recently went over my birth plan with her and while she has been mostly cooperative with the the drug-free natural approaches I am aiming for, she is not quite in agreement with the placenta delivery issue. She feels that rather than wait for the placenta to deliver naturally after delivery, it is better to take the Syntometrine/Syntocinon injection to help it to come out quickly. She feels that the injection reduces risk of placenta retention and heavy post-partum blood loss.

Now I am no doctor, but from everything I'm reading, it does not sound like taking the injection is a routine procedure unless there is already a lot of bleeding during labor/delivery. I also read that sometimes the injection can actually cause the placenta to be retained because the uterus clamps down too quickly. Not to mention that it's a drug and can have side effects such as nausea, headache and elevated blood pressure even.

Can anyone share if they have had any experiences with this procedure? If you have not given birth yet, is it something you have discussed with your doctor? How did that go? Any information is useful.

Thanks a lot!

lalligirl is offline Registered User