Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

What book to read for kids 3-10 years?

crystal88 is offline Registered User

What book to read for kids 3-10 years?

I applied as a storyteller in public library (after i listened to one who was so boring, i thought i can do it better), and luckily (or unfortunately) i was accepted. Now, the problem is i don't have experienced reading for an hour to kids, what books should i read. Any suggestion on what book has lots of interaction with kids. My schedule is still August/September so i have lots of time to check out the books. Thanks.

southside852 is offline Registered User

congrats! as an elementary teacher i can tell you that storytellers are so important in children's lives. it helps promote literacy, imagination and gives children a voice when maybe they are too shy to speak. i did read aloud every day in my classroom and it was their favorite part of the day!

My son is 3 and loves: The Gruffalo, Gruffalo's Child, Chicka Chicka Boom Boom, Knuffle Bunny, Eric Carle books, Dr. Seuss, Tomie DePaolo books, all Kevin Henkes books, Pocketful of ****es,

My students who were 6,7,8 yrs old loved: same as my 3 year old, Cynthia Rylant books, William Steig books, Cloudy w/a chance of meatballs, Click Clack Moo, and chapter books like Junie B. Jones, SPongebob Square Pants, Marvin Redpost. As a story teller you can also read harder chapter books that might be appropriate for age 12 like the Beverly Cleary books (Ramona, Freckle Juice etc...), Roald Dahl books (James and the Giant Peach etc...), Because of Winn Dixie.

Hope this helps!

rani is offline Administrator

My 8 year old is reading - Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, Diary of a Wimpy Kid

carang is offline Registered User

ROBERT MUNSCH (a professional canadian story teller) ALL of my students have loved him!