Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Planning to have kids in hk

Ashe is offline Registered User
    prince edward, hong kong

Planning to have kids in hk

hi guys - im born in HK (I have HKID) but have NZ citizenship, and my husband is from Malaysia - we've been working in hk for over 1 year now, and thinking bout having a kid in hk - does it automatically mean the kid gets HKID? and does anyone know if the kid will get Malaysian PR as well?

whats to look out for prior etc etc.. im pretty new to this and i dont have much girlfriends here that i can seek advice from...

any good ideas would help thanks...

lisa88 is offline Registered User
    I belive at least one parent must be of Chinese descent, preferably both. The nationality of the parents is not important.

Both my husband and I are Malaysian Chinese. Our daughter was born here in HK, and we had to demonstrate our Chinese lineage by producing our own birth certificates at the time we registered our daughter's birth. She is entitled to a HKID (3 stars) when she turns 11. However she is a Malaysian citizen and has a Malaysian passport. When she is an adult, she can choose to take up a HK passport and give up her Malaysian passport (Malaysia does not allow dual nationality). That is entirely her choice for later.

Another case - my friend is a HK born Chinese, now a US citizen. Her husband is American-German descent. Both their daughters, born in HK, are entitled to HKID, although also have US passports.

The HK Immigration website has information on "permanent right of abode" but when I read it last time, I found it a bit confusing.

thanka2 is offline Registered User
    This is my understanding: