Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Help! Should I look for a new helper?

lily1221 is offline Registered User

Help! Should I look for a new helper?

Hi everyone. I'm fairly new to the whole domestic helper world as my family has just moved here from the US 7 months ago. We hired a helper through an agency and she's been with us for almost 6 months. I am fine with her cleaning and marketing skills, but I am starting to get worried about her childcare abilities. I have a 21 month old son and am expecting baby no. 2 in a few weeks. When we hired our helper, we had not yet found out that I was pregnant, so I did not particularly mind that she had little experience with young children. I stay at home so I had planned on taking care of my son myself most of the time. But now that I'm going to have another one, I really think I will need a helper who can at least partly care for my toddler and/or baby.

Here is the main problem: She doesn't seem like she knows what to do with him. And even when I show her/give her examples or instructions, she has a hard time following them. For instance, in the mornings when I am trying to make breakfast for my son, and he's hugging my legs, whining for me to pick him up, my helper would just stand off to the side and watch us. She would not proactively come and try to distract him with a toy or anything like that. And when we are on the MTR and my son is screaming to get out of his stroller, my helper would just stare and look embarrassed. I have to be the one to either distract him with a song or story, etc. so that he would calm down. There are many more instances like these where I feel like she is at a loss as to what to do.