Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Moving to HK -Mid-Levels w toddler?

SarahHK is offline Registered User

Moving to HK -Mid-Levels w toddler?

Hi moms-

It's looking very likely that we will move to HK from San Francisco this fall. It's also very likely we will live in a service apt the first few months to get situated but we have a month in HK right now and I'd like to get started on some apt hunting research. We are a young family w 2yo boy and used to living in the heart of cities - SF now, NYC, Washington DC and Atlanta before - I'm not sure that I'm ready for the "burbs" but am wondering if Mid-levels is kid-friendly and taxis easy to get to kid activities? I've found it hard to get around solo w son -especially in the heat but also probably bc it's my first time to HK and we had jet lag, culture shock, etc.

I guess my questions are:
    1) Are there a lot of mid-level moms or does everyone move out to Pokfulam, RB, DB, NT?
    2) In the mid-levels - what streets/buildings would you suggest? Perhaps good amenities (pool/playground) or close to bus stop/taxi?
    3) Of course the air quality is a huge concern as well and seems that will be a trade-off for living closer to central - is it worth it?
    4) Perhaps housing costs are a factor as well? Would like to spend no more than 60K on 2-3 bedroom... If you had this budget and need for easy commute to the action, do you recommend any other neighborhoods or specific buildings?

Thanks for your help. I'm distraught by the thought of leaving our idyllic life in SF but always welcome an adventure and hope to turn the challenges into great life experiences.

starbucks2 is offline Registered User
    Hi

Good luck for the move. It is an interesting place to live but like everywhere it has its pluses and minuses.