Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Helper - Should She Stay or Go?

jgny is offline Registered User

Helper - Should She Stay or Go?

I'm really on the fence about my helper. She is an excellent cleaner, no complaints at all.

BUT she is a horrible cook. I do admit I have high expectations as I am a good cook and I love cooking, but all in all, she can only cook a few basic dishes which my husband and I are sick of. I have to give her a recipe and watch her closely to make sure things are being done right. She does not have a cook's intuition and often lacks common sense - for example, she once almost put 4 bars of chocolate in a recipe which called for 4 ounces. The thing that grates me is that she always give me a blank look whenever something like this happens.

I see my other friends that have helpers have fantastic Chinese and Western food on the table every night and just think that I will be able to find someone who is good at both cooking and cleaning.

At the same time I do feel bad for terminating her. I did offer to send her to cooking classes but she was insulted. She told me she could cook but I told her she could not, not up to our standards. She has been trying, but I've concluded she will never be a decent cook.

What would you do in my situation? Wait out the contract (another 18 months?) or terminate and find a new one? It's also a bit tricky as she is live out.

Frenchy is offline Registered User
    If you are a good cook and love it, why don't you do it ? I do love to cook, and cook every day, even though my helper is very able to cook too... I just ask her to cook once or twice a week, things she knows very well, so we don't get bored with her own recipies, and I've sent her to the YMCA cooking lessons too.

mariaindb is offline Registered User