Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Live-out helper, good idea?

AudreysMom is offline Registered User

Live-out helper, good idea?

I am new to hiring a helper. I am not used to the lack of privacy that comes with having a helper live-in, but with a husband who travels quite a but, i will need full time help as I have a 19 month old and a newborn coming in November. Has anyone hired a full time live-out helper? Do you pay them the same as a live-in? Should I hire 2 part-timers: one to cook and one to clean? Thanks for your thoughts.

missidealiste is offline Registered User
    Live out is illegal. On immigration paper state clearly that your DH should live with you. But still a lot of people are still doing it for convenience. Most Helpers I have encountered prefer to live-out anyway as they can make extra $$ by doing part-time job. And also, say if she lives with you, who likes to be waking up at night because your baby needs to change diapers...

The cost? If they were to live out, you would need to pay for their boarding apartment and food allowance of 300$/month. The housing price varies from 900hkd to 1800hkd- that was amount I was quoted when I did interview with different DH.

Thing is you want her to stay a more decent place, you don't want her to get sick and bring the bacteria to your home, rite?

carang is offline Registered User
    i've had three helpers. all have lived-in. i have never felt a lack of privacy from any of them. it all comes down to who you hire. the only thing that i can't do now is walk around the house in my underwear.... not a big deal to give it up.

food allowance is NOT $300... it is $740 ( i believe, or it could be $780)...