Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

dressing baby

catan is offline Registered User

dressing baby

I carry my baby in a sling a lot and tend to dress her in thin sleeveless onesies. I get many comments from my relatives about how it's bad for her health to keep her legs and arms uncovered. However, my baby tends to be very warm, especially when I'm carrying her, and I worry she'll overheat in this summer heat! She doesn't cry much so I assume she's comfortable most of the time?

I'm just learning as I go along... would appreciate any feedback!

2010-NewDad is offline Registered User
    We normally dress our baby in a sleeveless one-sie too, and simply use a blanket to shield her from any vicious shopping mall/restaurant air-con as necessary. It isn't cold in the Hong Kong summer, babies don't need to be covered simply to satisfy relatives.... it's pretty easy to see if he/she is content or not.

Frenchy is offline Registered User
    It depends on what you do around with your baby. If we go out, knowing we'll spend a lot of time in a taxi/bus or in a mall, we put some long or half-long shorts and a long sleeves light top on our girl, or take a little jacket if she has only short sleeves (I also carry my daughter a lot)... but most of the time we never need it.
    If we spend more time out, no pants, no sleeves, a little bit of sun cream and a cap, and she's fine !
    Why do they tell you it's bad for the baby, what is the reason ?

thanka2 is offline Registered User
    Babies have a layer of fat so they keep pretty insulated against the cold. We dress our baby in a sleeveless onesie and carry her in a front pack. We also pack a pair of sweatpants and a little long-sleeve shirt or jacket for her in case we feel her legs are getting cold--if we're in under cold A/C for long periods of time. If we overdress our daughter she just screams because she's too hot so it's easy for us to tell if she's dressed warmly enough.