Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Just testing the water...

rooj is offline Registered User

Just testing the water...

I'm just wondering how popular this would be?

How interested would you, as a parent be, if there was a day care facility available to you?

I am a primary school trained teacher with extensive early years experience and I am thinking of starting a small day care facility here in HK. I would only do half days for now and see where it took me and only a very limited number of places too but those sessions would be filled with proper purposeful play (not the bullsh!t that most kindys offer) and it would be a chance for social interaction without having little children sit for 20 minutes doing nothing but staring at the teacher.

I know that I, as a parent, would love something like this for my child but I'm wondering how many of you would be keen too?

thanka2 is offline Registered User
    For me, that might have been nice when my first child was born and I hadn't made up my mind about hiring a helper. But, now we have a great full-time helper to be with my children and I would prefer them to be at home during the day rather than in daycare. As far as social interaction goes, at 2-years-old my older child went to a very nice preschool for nearly full-days. While the style was definitely Chinese, I think his experiences there were very good for him--he loved it and learned a lot. Then when he wasn't quite 3-years-old he started kindergarten. Outside of these he has attended some nice playgroups, sports classes, art classes and other informal activities which he really has enjoyed.