Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Which Manual Pump?

zozorro is offline Registered User

Which Manual Pump?

I have a Medela double electric pump for home use but want a manual pump for travel or outside use. I have never used a manual pump before so no idea which is better - Avent Isis or Medela Harmony? Thx for your input! :)

charade is offline Registered User
    I have a smallish Medela that can be operated with a battery for when you don't have a plug point. Not sure which model since I borrowed it but if you're interested I can check.

zozorro is offline Registered User
    That should be the single electric pump. I'm looking at something more quiet and lighter that's why thinking of buying a manual pump. Thanks for sharing though. :)

nicolejoy is offline Registered User
    I've tried both that you mentioned and prefer the Medela. Plus, if you already have the Medela electric, the bottles as well as the valve etc are interchangeable.

If you have a fast flow, the Isis will not drain fast enough and cause a back log of milk that only empties into the bottle if you take it off your breast. It was so annoying... but if your flow is not that fast, it wouldn't be an issue, I assume...

Gataloca is offline Registered User
    I used to pump using Avent Isis, and did have the back log of milk that Nicole described, but then learned that it was because I didn't hold the pump right. Actually you have to hold the pump so that the bottle is in a complete perpendicular position with the floor... otherwise, it might build up a back log of milk, or even leak milk. Other thing that drove me crazy was the squeak sound... From some reason, the pumps would sometime make some annoying squeak sound each time I compress the handle.

If I am going to buy a new pump again, i might try the Medela Harmony instead.