Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Public or private - starved of options for Dragon year!

chyc is offline Registered User
    Hong Kong

Public or private - starved of options for Dragon year!

Hello everyone

I am new to this blog, new to pregnancy, new to everything!
    Only discovered that I'm pregnant last weekend (I'm currently 6 weeks and EDD looks to be August 2012)! As husband and I have be overseas from Thursday to the new year, we called a few doctors only to be told that no one is available for appointments this week - but to wait til January for the first appointment and a certificate will be too late because all the hospitals would be booked up for Dragon year next year!!

Does anyone have any advice re getting a good doctor and hospital at this time? I've read some of the threads here and don't really know to go to public at QMH (closest to where we live) or private at St Teresa / Adventist (is private possibly without having to spend 70k??) - that's one issue. The other is availability - apparently QMH may be full already for next year?

Any advice appreciated
    Thank you!

carang is offline Registered User
    Sai Kung
    QMH will NOT turn ANYONE away. it is a public hospital and it WILL take, if they are really full, then they may add extra beds into the ward....

charade is offline Registered User
    "is private possibly without having to spend 70k??"