Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Imbalance in breast milk when reducing pumping?

happiness is offline Registered User

Imbalance in breast milk when reducing pumping?

Was wondering does anyone have experience with this - I have been pumping exclusively for 4 months and and now trying to reduce my milk supply with a view to eventually stop pumping altogether. I've been reducing the amount pumped for about a week now but I think my milk is more watery now? Am I not getting hind milk because I am not emptying my breast? Would this imbalance cause baby to become very fussy and underfed!!!
    Any experience would be greatly appreciated ....

MommieMid is offline Registered User
    Happiness,
    I believe that you are correct, that if you don't empty your breast and leave the hind milk in the breast, then your baby will be getting insufficient calories from the breast milk and will be fussy.
    You could continue, as you have before, to use your breast pump in order to empty your breast, but pump less frequently.
    The principles of breastfeeding follow the laws of demand and supply, so your breast will produce the milk when your baby or pump, demand it. Thereby reducing the supply if you space out the breast expression. By only emptying half your breast, you may also become engorged or put yourself at risk of mastitis.
    In summary, you have two options. start to pump and fully empty only one breast per feed / expression or pump less often, spacing out the intervals between pumping.
    What supplements are you intending to give your baby? If you pump less, you will have less breast milk.