Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Need advice on public system

Redestiny is offline Registered User

Need advice on public system

I'm currently 5wks pregnant and although I think its far too early to even think about delivery, it seems you have to do these things quickly in HK.

The GP I have been using for about 4 years is based at 'Central Health' and is not able to give me advise on having a baby using the public system. Coming from the UK I have a hard time swallowing the costs involved with the private system, but have no idea how I would go about using the public service.

I live in Sai Kung, can anybody recommend a Dr willing to use the public hospitals?

This is my first time and I am feeling very confused.

Thanks so much

lesliefu is offline Registered User
    you can try Dr Sally Ferguson. she can't deliver in HK at all so does lots of prenatal checks..with her she wouldn't have any expectations about where and who delivers for you...but she's very experienced and used to deliver at Matilda and Adventist.

Aquarian is offline Registered User
    Do you mean you want to find a private doctor who can deliver your baby in a public hospital or that you want a private gp to visit while you're pregnant but then you'll just have a normal birth in a public hospital?

I'm doing the latter - the public system is super efficient. Just get a letter from a gp (any gp) to confirm you're pregnant then take it to the hospital and you'll be put on the conveyor belt.... If you're in sai Kung I think your hospital is either Pamela youde or United Christian. The dept of health website should tell you.

Aquarian is offline Registered User
    Ignore me- you wouldn't be Pamela youde, not sure why I wrote that. I think you're in the Kowloon East cluster: which means you'd go to United Christian hospital in kwun tong

Haskel is offline Registered User