Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree19Likes

34 weeks and want to change hopsptial & OB, would like to hear some advice

dressuphk is offline Registered User

34 weeks and want to change hopsptial & OB, would like to hear some advice

Hi ladies, it's my first time pregnant and now 34 weeks. I was planning to go private so have been seeing my OB Dr. Mok at the women's clinic and under her advice we booked a bed in St. Paul hospital when I was 9 week pregnant as she said St. Paul is a very good hospital and has very experienced mid wives.

Things goes fast, my OB is nice, friendly and professional but recently as time gets closer I feel a little uncomfortable about delivery in St. Paul and continue seeing her as my OB.

Things changed when we visited St. Paul hospital around 2 weeks ago, we realized that they will take the baby away from us and we will only see the baby once a day, the bb will be put in a nursery room where only mums can go and feed the baby. -- my husband feel very uncomfortable as he wants to be with the baby, but only if we have a private room will the hospital allow the bb to stay with us. But we do not want private as we JUST realized when we visited the hospital that the OB will charge us more (probably double) if we choose private room. We found it a bit strange and do not want to pay for the double OB charge.

Another thing makes me really uncomfortable is the recent appointments we talked a little about birth plan and etc. When I mentioned that I do not wish to have Episiotomy or want to avoid one, my OB said things I think it is not quite true or reasonable. She said asian women (i am asian) has tighter vagina and would have big risk of tear bla bla, and she is very pro episiotomy as I heard from another friend who also use her as OB. But I prefers a natural tear instead of episiotomy.