Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

What's are my first steps after testing positive?

MertonMummy is offline Registered User
    Kennedy Town

What's are my first steps after testing positive?

Hi, I'm 7W and a total newbie to this and to HK. We just found out yesterday but we're at a complete loss of what the process is like here unlike if we were at home.

So, from what I gather reading the forums, the first things I should do are
    Register at a public hospital for a bed
    - I'm in Kennedy Town, so QMH would be the go-to?
    2. Go to private clinics for check-ups
    - But where do I start? Who do I go to?

Some background info: we've been trying for about 3-4 years and even went to a private ob/gyn for fertility treatments. We were abt to start AI or IVF when we moved here so our plans were halted. We decided we would adopt and just started the process, and were about to make the final submissions and arrange for home visits when I missed my period.

So, we're very very worried about complications/mc's etc - not that we've had them before but because we could never conceive despite a whole year of treatment.

Any thoughts on whether the 2 action points above are about par for the course or given my history, should I take some other extra precaution (that I still don't know about?)

Thanks so much!

elle is offline Registered User
    hk south side
    might want to book an appointment with a private doctor who can review your medical history and discuss any particular concerns/ potential issues with you. Believe you need a doctor's certificate confirming pregnancy to register with a public hospital anyway, so one visit to a private doctor may be good place to start. oh, and congratulations!

elle is offline Registered User
    hk south side
    This link may also have a little useful info and contact numbers, etc. in addition to the info available on Geobaby: