Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Private Room or Public Ward? Questions!

TNJ
    TNJ is offline Registered User

Smile Private Room or Public Ward? Questions!

Hi everyone,

I feel like an absolute novice pregnant lady with a gazillion questions! So here goes..

I am registered at Queen Elizabeth (which I am very happy with so far), I'm now 15 weeks pregnant. (Due in august)

I would like to ask you ladies a few questions! (In hope you can help me figure some things out!)

I have o- blood type but my partner has o+, I'm really confused to what it actually means, but I know my body could develop antibodies against the baby?

I am currently looking to go into the private ward in QEH, I know first class is $3,900/day and I know semi-private is $2,600/day which is reasonable!

However, I am wondering what its like on a public ward? Is it really that bad?

How long (on average) do you have to stay in hospital after the birth?

Also has anyone else got the same blood problem as me? Will it effect how long I have to stay in hospital?

Thanks everyone!

carang is offline Registered User

i delivered 2 kids in QMH, public ward. while not luxurious, it was dirt cheap ($100/day) and only for about 3 days. for me, i wasn't prepared to pay more than that.

i learned very quickly when the orderlies/cleaning ladies cleaned the bathrooms and just made sure i showered immediately after that. that solved a lot of my issues.

justarlene is offline Registered User

Hi I've read in some of the threads, we are not allowed to book the private room in QM in advance? Is this still valid? I'm still considering between QM and PYE. Since I am betting so much on private ward, I thought my chances will be higher with PYE. But if QM changed its rule, I may want to reconsider. :)

carang is offline Registered User

i have no idea. my kids are now 6 & 8 years old, so my info is a little out of date. sorry.